Homily Archives

Periodically, Sts. Simon & Jude will record interesting homilies from the weekend Masses.  The following podcasts are available for download:

Note, the files are large, downloads may take some time

TWELFTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, June 25, 2017
Genesis 12:1-9 • Romans 5:12-15 • Matthew 10:26-33
Reverend Vincent Nguyen, ofm
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


SOLEMNITY OF THE BODY AND BLOOD OF CHRIST
Sunday, June 18, 2017
Deuteronomy 8:2-3, 14B-16A • 1 Corinthians 10:16-17 • John 6:51-58
Reverend Danial Barica, ofm
Reverend Warren Rouse, ofm


SOLEMNITY OF THE MOST HOLY TRINITY
Sunday, June 11, 2017
Exodus 34:4B-6, 8-9 • 2 Corinthians 13:11-13 • John 3:16-18
Deacon Stephen Byars
Deacon Bill Cobbett


PENTECOST SUNDAY
Sunday, June 4, 2017
Acts 2:1-11 • 1 Corinthians 12:3B-7, 12-13-9 • John 20:19-23
Reverend Joe Schwab, ofm


ASCENSION OF THE LORD
Sunday, May 28, 2017
Acts 1:1-11 • Ephesians 1:17-23 • Matthew 28:16-20
Reverend Vincent Nguyen, ofm
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm


SIXTH SUNDAY OF LENT
Sunday, May 21, 2017
Acts 8:5-8, 14-17 • 1 Peter 3:15-18 • John 14:15-21
Reverend Rusty Shaughnessy, ofm


FIFTH SUNDAY OF LENT
Sunday, May 14, 2017
Acts 6:1-7 • 1 Peter 2:4-9 • John 14:1-12
Reverend Warren Rouse, ofm
Deacon Stephen Byars


FOURTH SUNDAY OF LENT
Sunday, May 7, 2017
Acts 2:14A. 36-41 • 1 Peter 2:20B-25 • John 10:1-10
Reverend Ryan Thornton, ofm


THIRD SUNDAY OF LENT
Sunday, April 30, 2017
Acts 2:14, 22-33 • 1 Peter 1:17-21 • Luke 24:13-35
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


THE RESURRECTION OF THE LORD - THE MASS OF EASTER DAY
Sunday, April 16
Acts 10:34A, 37-43 • Colossians 3:1-4 • John 20:1-9
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


HOLY SATURDAY AT THE EASTER VIGIL IN THE HOLY NIGHT OF EASTER
Saturday, April 15
Genesis 1:1-2:2 • Genesis 22:1-18 • Exodus 14:15-15:1 • Isaiah 54:5-14 • Isaiah 55:1-11 • Baruch 3:9-15, 32C4:4 • Ezekiel 36:16:17A, 18-28 • Romans 6:3-11 • Matthew 28:1-10
Deacon Bill Cobbett


FIFTH SUNDAY OF LENT
Sunday, April 2, 2017
Ezekiel 37:12-14 • Romans 8:8-11 • John 11:1-45
Reverend Ryan Thornton, ofm


FOURTH SUNDAY OF LENT
Sunday, March 26, 2017
1 Samuel 16:1B, 6-7, 10-13A • Ephesians 5:8-14 • John 9:1-41
Very Reverend David Gaa, ofm. Provincial Minister, Province of St. Barbara
Deacon Stephen Byars


THIRD SUNDAY OF LENT
Sunday, March 19, 2017
Exodus 17:3-7 • Romans 5:1-2, 5-8 • John 4:5-42
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


SECOND SUNDAY OF LENT
Sunday, March 12, 2017
Genesis 12:1-4A • 2 Timothy 1:8B-10 • Matthew 17:1-9
Deacon Bill Cobbett


EIGHTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, February 26, 2017
Isaiah 49:14-15 • 1 Corinthians 4:1-4 • Matthew 6:24-34
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm
Reverend Warren Rouse, ofm
Deacon Vincent Nguyen, ofm
Deacon Stephen Byars


SEVENTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, February 19, 2017
Leviticus 19:1-2, 17-18 • 1 Corinthians 3:16-23 • Matthew 5:38-48
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


FIFTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, February 5, 2017
Isaiah 58:7-10 • 1 Corinthians 2:1-5 • Matthew 5:13-16
Most Reverend Timothy Freyer, Bishop of Orange
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm
Reverend Rusty Shaughnessy, ofm


FOURTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, January 29, 2017
Zephanian 2:3; 3:12-13 • 1 Corinthians 1:26-31 • Matthew 5:1-12A
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


THIRD SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, January 22, 2017
Isaiah 8:23 — 9:3 • 1 Corinthians 1:10-13, 17 • Matthew 4:12-23
Deacon Stephen Byars
Reverend Warren Rouse, ofm
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm


SECOND SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, January 15, 2017
Isaiah 49:3, 5-6 • 1 Corinthians 1:1-3 • John 1:29-34
Deacon Vincent Nguyen, ofm


THE EPIPHANY OF THE LORD
Sunday, January 8, 2017
Isaiah 60:1-6 • Ephesians 3:2-3A, 5-6 • Matthew 2:1-12
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


SOLEMNITY OF THE BLESSED VIRGIN MARY, THE MOTHER OF GOD
January 1, 2017
Numbers 6:22-27 • Galatians 4:4-7 • Luke 2:16-21
Reverend Rusty Shaughnessy, ofm


THE SOLEMNITY OF THE NATIVITY OF THE LORD (CHRISTMAS)
Sunday, December 25, 2016
Isaiah 9:1-6 • Titus 2:11-14 • Luke 2:1-14
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm


THE FOURTH SUNDAY OF ADVENT
Sunday, December 18, 2016
Isaiah 7:10-14 • Romans 1:1-7 • Matthew 1:18-24
Reverend Ryan Thornton, ofm

Fr. Ryan would like to note that his homily was partly inspired by a sermon given by the late Rev. S.M. Lockridge, a Baptist pastor near San Diego; for those who are interested in the source material, Rev. Lockridge's sermon can be easily found on the Internet.


THE THIRD SUNDAY OF ADVENT
Sunday, December 11, 2016
Isaiah 35:1-6A, 10 • James 5:7-10 • Matthew 12:2-11
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm


THE SECOND SUNDAY OF ADVENT
Sunday, December 4, 2016
Isaiah 11:1-10 • Romans 15:4-9 • Matthew 3:1-12
Reverend Dan Lackie, ofm


THE FIRST SUNDAY OF ADVENT
Sunday, November 27, 2016
Isaiah 2:1-5 • Romans 13:11-14 • Matthew 24:37-44
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm
Deacon Stephen Byars


THE SOLEMNITY OF OUR LORD JESUS CHRIST, KING OF THE UNIVERSE
Sunday, November 20, 2016
2 Samuel 5:1-3 • Colossians 1:12-20 • Luke 23:35-43
Deacon Stephen Byars
Deacon Vincent Nguyen, ofm


THIRTY-THIRD SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, November 13, 2016
Malachi 3:19-20A • 2 Thessalonians 3:7-12 • Luke 21:5-19
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


THIRTY-SECOND SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, November 6, 2016
2 Maccabees 7:1-2, 9-14 • 2 Thessalonians 2:16-3:5 • Luke 20:27-38
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


THIRTY-FIRST SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, October 30, 2016
Wisdom 11:22-12:2 • 2 Thessalonians 1:11-2:2 • Luke 19:1-10
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm


THIRTIETH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, October 23, 2016
Sirach 35:12-14, 16-18 • 2 Timothy 4:6-8, 16-18 • Luke 18:9-14
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


TWENTY-NINTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, October 16, 2016
Exodus 17:8-13 • 2 Timothy 3:14-4:2 • Luke 18:1-8
Deacon Stephen Byars


TWENTY-SIXTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, September 25, 2016
Amos 6:1A, 4-7 • 1 Timothy 6:11-16 • Luke 16:19-31
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


TWENTY-FIFTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, September 18, 2016
Amos 8:4-7 • 1 Timothy 2:1-8 • Luke 16:1-13
Reverend Warren Rouse, ofm

TWENTY-FOURTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, September 11, 2016
Exodus 32:7-11, 13-14 • 1 Timothy 1:12-17 • Luke 15:1-32
Deacon Vincent Nguyen, ofm


TWENTY-THIRD SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, September 4, 2016
Wisdom 9:13-18B • Philemon 1:9-10, 12-17 • Luke 14:25-33
Reverend Ryan Thornton, ofm


TWENTY-FIRST SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, August 21, 2016
Isaiah 66:18-21 • Hebrews 12:5-7, 11—13 • Luke 13:22-30
Reverend Ryan Thornton, ofm


FOURTEENTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, July 3, 2016
Isaiah 66:10-14C • Galatians 6:14-18 • Luke 10:1-12, 17-20
Deacon Stephen Byars


THIRTEENTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, June 26, 2016
1 Kings 19:16B, 19-21 • Galatians 5:1, 13—18 • Luke 9:51-62
Reverend Ryan Thornton, ofm


TWELFTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, June 19, 2016
Zechariah 12:10-11, 13:1 • Galatians 3:26—29 • Luke 9:18-24
Deacon Bill Cobbett
Reverend Warren Rouse, ofm


TENTH SUNDAY IN ORDINARY TIME
Sunday, June 5, 2016
1 Kings 17:17-24 • Galatians 1:11—14A, 15AC, 16A, 17, 19 • Luke 7:11-17
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


SOLEMNITY OF THE MOST HOLY BODY AND BLOOD OF CHRIST
May 29, 2016
Genesis 14:18-20 • 1 Corinthians 11:23-26 • Luke 9:11B-17
Deacon Stephen Byars


THE SOLEMNITY OF THE MOST HOLY TRINITY
Sunday, May 22, 2016
Proverbs 8:22-31 • Romans 5:1-5 • John 16:12-15
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm


FUNERAL MASS FOR REVEREND ALEXANDER MANVILLE, OFM
Friday, May 13, 2016
1 John 4:7-12  Revelation 14:13  Matthew 13:4-48:52
Sister Maureen Sheehan, BVM
Reverend Christian Mondor, ofm


SOLEMNITY OF THE ASCENSION OF THE LORD
Sunday, May 8, 2016
Acts 1: 1-11 • Ephesians 1:17-23 • Luke 24:46-53
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


SIXTH SUNDAY OF EASTER
Sunday, May 1, 2016
Acts 15: 1-2, 22-29 • Revelation 21:10-14, 22-23 • John 14:23-29
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


FIFTH SUNDAY OF EASTER
Sunday, April 25, 2016
Acts 14, 21-27 • Revelation 21:1-5A • John 13:31-33A, 34-35
Reverend Garrett Galvin, ofm
Reverend Warren Rouse, ofm


FOURTH SUNDAY OF EASTER
Sunday, April 17, 2016
Acts 13: 14, 43-52 • Revelation 7:9, 14B-17 • John 10:27-30
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm


THIRD SUNDAY OF EASTER
Sunday, April 10, 2016
Acts 5: 27—32, 40B-41 • Revelation 5:11-14 • John 21:1-19
Deacon Bill Cobbett
Deacon Stephen Byars


SECOND SUNDAY OF EASTER (Sunday of Divine Mercy)
Sunday, April 3, 2016
Acts 5: 12—16 • Revelation 1:9-11A, 12-13, 17-19 • John 20:19-31
Reverend Daniel Barica, ofm